74 Responses to Join the Challenge

  1. Beth F says:

    I am sooooo signing up for this one. I’ll get my announcement post up on Sunday.

  2. Reno says:

    Another challenge for my list! 🙂 I think I’ll aim for Bon Vivant.

  3. I am SOOOOOOO in for this one! I loved The Spice of Life Challenge in 2009 and was hoping someone would do a food book challenge!!!

    I’ll make my challenge post and then be back to sign up officially.

  4. How wonderful! Books about food politics are my obsession. In general, I probably will make my comments in your comment section rather than on my blog. Hope that is OK.

  5. Gnoe says:

    Foodie! That’s me! I knew I heard someone calling me! 🙂
    Awesome challenge. But I am starting to get worried: we’re not even halfway December and I’ve signed up for 2 challenges already… LOL

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Join the Challenge | Foodie's Reading Challenge -- Topsy.com

  7. I love reading foodie books.

    My blog is Life @ Number 8.

    I did the Mr Linky thing but oops maybe I was meant to wait until I did a post.
    hmm
    what can I say? it’s 30 degrees (that HOT) today.
    I live in Australia.
    I will Blog this tomorrow which is Saturday for me.

  8. and just when I said no more challenges…lol
    this looks fabulous – I can’t wait to get started.

  9. Gina Beirne says:

    I don’t have a blog (yet), but I would like to join your challenge. Sign me up for the glutton level. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Foodie’s Reading Challenge | Review From Here

  11. Tracee says:

    Gonna try being a nibbler, but hoping to read more. Thanks for hosting this one!

  12. Jojo says:

    I hope this is where I sign up if I do not have a blog. This is my first adventure in this regard, and I am excited to be a glutton.

  13. Sherrie says:

    Hi Margot,
    Great idea for a reading challenge. I’ve posted and linked back to you. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  14. MFK Fisher here I come! So glad I saw this! I’m in — but probably only as a nibbler. That way if I read more — it’s icing on the cake!

  15. Nise' says:

    I’m in with the Nibbler level. Great challenge.

  16. ellie says:

    Looking forward to this challenge. I’m going for the Bon Vivant level.

  17. Cath says:

    Wonderful challenge – I’m doing the Bon Vivant level.

  18. I’m officially in! I am very excited about this one — thank you for hosting it! I signed up at the Bon Vivant level, but there are 15 books on my possibilities list already.

    Rose City Reader

  19. Kate says:

    Oh dear, Birdie has got me into another challenge. I blame her!!! 🙂

    I’m very excited about this, thanks for hosting! I’ll post an introduction on my blog sometime in the near future and re-link in the comments when I have it up.

  20. BJ says:

    No blog. This is my first book challenge ever. Love foodie books. This challenge was tailor-made for me. Sign me up for Glutton. Thanks for doing this./bj

  21. Pingback: The Challenge is saying no? | Capricious Reader

  22. sheri says:

    I have lots of cozy mysteries that have something to do with food. great challenge

  23. Louise says:

    What an excellent reading challenge Margot. Thanks so much for organising it. I just love the button too, it’s looks so festive and delicious. I’ve done my first post, and luckily one of my upcoming books will be perfect! I haven’t participated in a reading challenge like this before. Do we come back here to the comments when we’re read and blogged our foodie books?
    http://astrongbeliefinwicker.blogspot.com/2010/12/foodies-reading-challenge.html

  24. Gnoe says:

    It took me a while but my admission post is up!

  25. GeraniumCat says:

    What a terrific idea! I’ve signed up for the Bon Vivant level.

  26. Morgana says:

    I’m still updating my blog for the New Year, but I’m game to sign up as a glutton.
    Food writing is one of my favorite things to read and even Hubby doesn’t mind me concentrating on it!

    I’ll get a formal post up in the next day or two.

  27. Laura says:

    Oooh, this looks like a great challenge. I’m going to sign up at the Nibbler level, but will probably change that as the year goes by. (I don’t think I’ve ever sought out “foodie” books before, so we’ll see what happens!)

    Thanks for hosting!

  28. Love a challenge, and thanks to Louise from A Strong Belief in Wicker (see above) for pointing me in the right direction!
    I’m a Shanghai foodie, and I have a lovely long list of foodie books I’m reaing/should read/planning to read this year. So I’m going to push myself to Goumet Level! One a month!
    In fact, I could do a once a month post on my blog…. http://www.nanchanglu.blogspot.com/

  29. BJ says:

    I have a couple of recommendations if anyone is interested. I saw the Vie De France by James Haller on someone else’s list. This book is in my “keeper” pile and I may have to re-read it. I love the way he describes food. Peter Mayle’s “A Year in Provence” was the first “Foodie” book I ever read and is still one of my favorites. If anyone is looking for some fiction, Erica Bauermeister’s “The School of Essential Ingredients”, I really enjoyed. Also, Barbara O’Neal’s “The Lost Recipe for Happiness and “The Secret of Everything” have food as central characters. Jeanne Ray wrote a funny book titled “Eat Cake”. If you are looking for nonfiction: Katherine Darling’s “Under the Table”, Kathleen Flinn’s “The Sharper your knife, the less you cry” and Dalia Jurgensen’s “Spiced” are all great reads about culinary school. I wouldn’t mind re-reading any of these. I’m working on coming up with a whole new list of books I haven’t read for this challange. Happy Reading everyone!!/bj

  30. Thank you, Margot. Have drawn up a post on my blog. Culinary journeys are incredible experiences. What more with books to prop them up. Thrilled with the challenge. regards

  31. I’m signed up to listen to The Food-Mood Solution by Jack Chellam in an eBook format. Should be interesting. Thanks Margot for hosting!

  32. thecoolmom says:

    I’m going for the Glutton level. Between cookbooks and culinary mysteries, this should be fun.

  33. BookAddict says:

    I am going for gourmet and read culinary mysteries all the way.

  34. Natasha A. says:

    This is awesome!! I however just signed up using the blog post I made rather than my blog in general…oh well!
    I’m so looking forward to this!
    I got Bon Appetit Desserts and I can’t wait to dig into it!

  35. This is the most yummy reading challenge yet for me. Thanks for hosting it, Margot. 🙂 Happy New Year to you!

  36. Denise says:

    Goal is Epicurean or bust!

  37. Nita Birnbaum says:

    I love the Challenge. My favorite foodie book was “Comfort me With Apples.” I’ve since read all of Ruth Reichl’s books and have purchased a few more “foodie books” and am ready to dive in. Also read Anthony Bordain’s “Kitchen Confidential” and loved it. I don’t have a blog so I’m signing up here at the “Nibbler” level.

  38. Naomi says:

    This is my first ever reading challenge and I’m going to be a nibbler. I’m really looking forward to this thanks for hosting. 🙂

  39. Jenn says:

    Signed up and hungry!

  40. How *dare* you tempt me with another reading challenge? 😉 This looks like fun and I’m excited to see what books everyone else reads.

  41. Pingback: 2011 Reading Challenge: Foodie’s Reading Challenge | CRAVE

  42. Patti Smith says:

    Yay! I’m officially in! I have 5 books on my TBR shelf already!! 🙂

  43. Kim says:

    I think I’m going to go for the Gourmet level. I’m starting the year off with Anthony Bourdain so I thought this would be a good challenge to join.

  44. Great challenge, thanks! I signed up at the Epicurean level.

  45. dewdrop says:

    Thanks for hosting this challenge.

    I am in !

    Looking forward to reading all the yummy books 🙂

  46. Heather says:

    This sounds fun. I read my first book and will add the link. I’m going to try for Epicurian.

  47. Gina says:

    I wasn’t going to join another challenge, even though I thought it sounded interesting until I picked up my second book of the year. “The First Love Cookie Club” How could I resist joining after that? I am going to Nibble my way through since I’m trying to read from my own shelves

  48. lissijo says:

    New blogger, and already I’ve got 2 challenges! I think this book blogging plan is going to go well. I’m entering at Epicurian, and we’ll see how it goes with school and life along for the ride.

  49. This is my first challenge! I’m joining the Gourmet level.

  50. Michelle says:

    How fun….I am joining at the Glutton level…..can’t wait to see what everyone is reading!

    First book: Ginger and Ganesh – Adventures in Indian Cooking, Culture and Love by Nani Power

  51. Pingback: Tweets that mention Join the Challenge | Foodie's Reading Challenge -- Topsy.com

  52. Even if I hadn’t already planned to be a Glutton, I’d’ve been nudged into that category by all the enthusiastic chatter about various titles here. Thanks for hosting: quite looking forward to these reads and other foodies’ choices too!

  53. Yay! My two favorite things…food and books! This is right up my alley, thank you 🙂

  54. marty says:

    This is my first challenge and while I love reading a variety of books I love cookbooks and food /kitchen memoirs. I will strive for Epicurean.

  55. ck says:

    What a great idea and way to be able to share the joy with like minded people. I’ve signed up – GLUTTON. Will post something this weekend. Thank you Margot for such a great opportunity.

  56. Melissa says:

    Honestly, I can’t believe I didn’t officially sign up for this one. Thought I had, but just added myself to the list now at the Glutton level. (That describes my list of Challenges, too.)

  57. I am not doing any challenges this year, but I am interested in seeing what books others are reading! As you can see from my blog title, I love books AND food!

  58. I’m in! I’ve already got two cookbooks and a nonfiction under my belt. I don’t blog about books very often, so it will be an interesting challenge!

  59. rmalino2 says:

    Food and books, what could be better?

  60. JP says:

    A little late, but I’m excited!

  61. Maggie says:

    Darn, I accidentally signed up twice! I have my post up here with the books so far this year.

  62. bybee says:

    I see many of my blogging friends here, so I don’t know how this one slipped by me. I’m signing up for the Bon Vivant level. Excited. Hungry!

  63. renee says:

    I love reading books about food. I usually have at least five cookbooks checked out of the library at a time. A friend of mine was so surprised that I actually READ cookbooks. Imagine that, some people on look to cookbooks in search of a specific recipe. I use cookbook reading a s a learning tool, a recreation and an inspiration. I will post about the ones I’m reading tomorrow. I will have to sign up as a glutton. My first books will include Culinary Tea, My bread, Pure Desserts and As always, Julia

  64. Kim says:

    Just found this challenge and I’ve posted my first review. I’ll be a nibbler for sure, but it’s lovely to see so many resources already up.

  65. Tina says:

    So happy to have stumbled across this site! I will get my announcement up soon 🙂

  66. midddeb says:

    I’m late in the game here, can I still join?

  67. Helen Marie says:

    Glutton Level for me, please 😀

  68. midddeb says:

    I’ll go for Nibbler, though I reserve the right to throw away my willpower and read more, more, more!

  69. Pingback: Foodie Reading Challenge | The Novel World

  70. Pingback: A Good Eater » Blog Archive » JOIE DE VIVRE BY ROBERT ARBOR AND KATHERINE WHITESIDE

  71. I signed up and will be nibbling

  72. Pingback: 2011 Reading Challenges | Adventist Homemaker

Leave a Reply

